Pictures from the 2007 conference








RESEARCH and innovation POLICY


Thursday 16 June 2011
Brussels Marriott Hotel

Brussels - Belgium


The Conference is organized by CASMARE – Coordination Action FP7 on behalf of the European Technology Platform WATERBORNETP   , in close cooperation with by MARE FORUM and builds upon the results of the 1st Research and Innovation Maritime Policy Conference in November 2007 where more than 300 distinguished representatives from the maritime industry and academia attended at the presence of the then DG RTD Commissioner Mr. J. Potočnik.

The conference will take the WATERBORNETP Strategic Research Agenda one step further. It will set the scene for the research and innovation policies for the maritime sector for the coming years. It links the VISION of the Maritime Industry beyond 2020 with Innovation policies and with methods and practices for holistic research and innovation strategies for the full exploitation of resources and results at European and National level.


Representatives of the major European Maritime Industry Organizations at board level have expressed their interest to attend the conference.


The WATERBORNETP Declaration on the Grand Challenges for Seas and Oceans will be launched to help defining future research programmes (including Framework Programme 8) in the sector, to re-affirm and to further demonstrate the crucial relevance of the Maritime activities for Europe.



08:30   Registration
09:30   Welcome by the conference chairmen

Govert Hamers
WATERBORNE Technology Platform and
CEO of IHC Merwede

Niko Wijnolst
Waterborne Technology Platform Mirror Group


Ms Patricia Reilly
Member of Cabinet of Commissioner Research, Innovation and Science


10:00 - 11:00   Setting the Scene

The European Waterborne Industry Today
    Where do we stand after the crisis?
Mr. Sjef van Dooremalen
Chairman Scheepsbouw Nederland
    What challenges do we face?
Mr. Michael vom Baur
Mvb euroconsul

    The WATERBORNE Declaration 2011 (Grand Challenges and Sustainability)
Mr. Rolf Skjong
WATERBORNE Technology Platform Support Group, DNV
11:00   Coffee Break
11:20 - 12:20   Session 1

Waterborne Industry Research and Development for the coming decade

    Linking the Marine and Maritime Vision
Mr. Adi Kellermann
ICES / MARCOM+ Project Co-ordinator

Lessons learned from FP7

Mr. Jochen Marzi
Chairman of ECMAR, HSVA

The future of collaborative R&D in the recreational marine sector
Mr. Ken Wittamore
Research Advisor of ICOMIA

12:20 - 13:50   Lunch
13:50 -
  Session 2

Linking the Research results and Innovation

    Where SME’s count?
Dr. Stelios Kyriacou
Technical Director of Hamworthy Water Systems and WATERBORNETP Vice-Chairman
    The role of class in stimulating innovation
Mr. Olav Nortun
Chief Operating Officer of Det Norske Veritas
    How EU projects have been used by IMO
Ms. Heike Deggim
Head of Maritime Technology Section of IMO


14:50 - 15:50   Session 3

Linking the Member States; Clusters and Waterborne National Mirrors
    The Italian model
Mr. Claudio Bertoli
Director of Energy and Transport Department of National Research Council (IT)

Learning from the continent
Mr. John Murray
Chief Executive Officer of Society of Maritime

The Spanish Programme
Mr. Arturo González Romero
General Manager of Innovamar

Promotion of maritime innovation and research needs for a candidate country, Turkey
Prof. Mustafa Insel
Faculty of Naval Architecture & Ocean Engineering
15:50 - 16:10   Coffee break
16:10 - 17:00   Panel Discussion

FP8 and the Future of Waterborne Research and Innovation

16:10   Chaired by:
Niko Wijnolst
Chairman Mirror Group Waterborne Technology Platform

Panel Members:
Mr. András Siegler
Director of Directorate Transport - DG RTD

Mr. Fotis Karamitsos
Director of Directorate Maritime Transport DG MOVE

Mr. Luigi Mor
CEO of Cantieri Apuania

Mr. J.B. Petersen
Chief Specialist Vessel Performance – AP Møller Mærks

Mr. Lars Gørvell-Dahll
Senior Vice-President of Kongsberg Group ASA

Ms. Thecla Bodewes
CEO of Bodewes Shipyard, De Kaap Shipyard and Maritima Green Technology

17:00   Closure with the VISIONS OLYMPICS – CESA Smart Awards 2010 Ceremony.

Sponsored by IHC Merwede
17:15 - 18:15
18:15   End



For further information on the conference please contact:


P.O. Box 3108
3003 AC Rotterdam
The Netherlands

T: +31 10 842 57 97

F: +31 10 844 99 69